We've updated our Terms of Use. You can review the changes here.

XYZ - A Tribute to Rush (Special Edition)

by Sonic Elements (Various)




This is a Special Edition Re-release of 2012's Sonic Elements Tribute To Rush called "XYZ" (with the "X" standing for us, the musicians inspired by Rush and our collaboration with Neil's drums via Sonic Reality's Neil Peart Drums groove libraries).

This version includes 4 covers of Rush songs from the Moving Pictures album with special guests John Wesley (Porcupine Tree), Rik Emmett (Triumph), Billy Sherwood (Yes), Dave Kerzner & Matt Dorsey (Sound of Contact), Randy McStine (The Fringe) and more.

This Special Edition also includes 5 bonus original songs from a variety of modern artists inspired by Rush and Neil Peart.


released January 12, 2020

Sonic Elements
XYZ - A Tribute To Rush - Special Edition

1. Tom Sawyer (feat. John Wesley)
Vocals, Guitar - John Wesley

Keyboards - Dave Kerzner

Bass - Billy Sherwood

Drums - Neil Peart Drums by Sonic Reality 

2. Red Barchetta (featuring Rik Emmett)
Vocals, Guitar - Rik Emmett

Keyboards - Dave Kerzner

Bass - Matt Dorsey 

Drums - Neil Peart Drums by Sonic Reality

3. YYZ 

(feat. Billy Sherwood)
Guitar, Bass - Billy Sherwood

Guitar - Alastair Greene

Keyboards - Dave Kerzner

Drums - Neil Peart Drums by Sonic Reality

4. Limelight (feat. Randy McStine)
Vocals - Randy McStine

Guitars - John Wesley

Keyboards - Dave Kerzner

Bass - Billy Sherwood

Drums - Neil Peart Drums by Sonic Reality

5. Trifecta (Bonus Track by Billy Sherwood & Dave Kerzner)
Guitars, Bass - Billy Sherwood

Keyboards - Dave Kerzner

Drums - Neil Peart Drums by Sonic Reality

6. Times Gone (Bonus Track by Billy Sherwood & Dave Kerzner)

Guitars, Bass - Billy Sherwood

Keyboards - Dave Kerzner

Drums - Neil Peart Drums by Sonic Reality

7. I Can't Take You With Me (Bonus Track by District 97)
Vocals - Leslie Hunt
Drums - Jonathan Schang
Keyboards - Rob Clearfield
Bass - Patrick Mulcahy
Guitars - Jim Tashjian

8. The Impulsive Type (Bonus Track by Glass Hammer)
Vocals, Guitar - Carl Groves
Keyboards - Fred Schendel
Bass - Steve Babb
Guitar - Kamran Alan Shikoh

9. Man Unkind (Bonus Track by In Continuum)
Vocals, Keyboards - Dave Kerzner
Guitars - Randy McStine
Guitars - Fernando Perdomo
Bass - Matt Dorsey
Drums - Marco Minnemann
Electric Violin - Joe Deninzon
Violin & Viola - Kaitlin Wolfberg
Cello - Ruti Celli

All songs produced and mixed by Dave Kerzner (except tracks 7 and 8)
Track 7 Produced by Jonathan Schang and District 97
Track 8 Produced and mixed by Steve Babb and Fred Schendel
Mastered by Gavin Lurssen, Lurssen Mastering
 (tracks 1-6 only)
Assistant engineer Ryan Haft
 (tracks 1-6 only)
Neil Peart's drum performance recorded by Nick Raskulinecz
Rik Emmett's performance recorded by Mike Shotton in Toronto

John Wesley, Billy Sherwood, Matt Dorsey and Randy McStine recorded remotely

Additional guitars for Red Barchetta - John Wesley, Randy McStine
SampleMoog Taurus bass for Red Barchetta - Mike Shotton

Additional bass for Red Barchetta - Billy Sherwood

All songs by Rush except tracks 5 and 6 written by Billy Sherwood & Dave Kerzner, track 7 written by Jonathan Schang, track 8 Written by Fred Schendel, Steve Babb and Kamran Alan Shikoh, track 9 written by Dave Kerzner & Kelly Nordstrom

Note: Neil Peart's drum performances are included on this album via his sample library "Neil Peart Drums" by Sonic Reality which is available from www.esoundz.com , www.sonicreality.com and www.ikmultimedia.com Any musician who purchases Neil Peart Drums can use his actual drum performances recorded by Rush producer Nick Raskulinecz in their own music, whether it's a cover of a Rush song or their own original song (as long as their original song does not include melodies from a Rush song and as long as it is properly credited to Neil Peart Drums by Sonic Reality).

Special Thanks to: Neil Peart, Jonathan Schang and District 97, Steve Babb & Glass Hammer, John Wesley, Billy Sherwood, Matt Dorsey, Randy McStine, Francis Dunnery, Marco Minnemann, Joe Deninzon, Ruti Celli, Kaitlin Wolfberg, Fernando Perdomo, Alastair Greene, Nick Raskulinecz, Andy Curran, Pegi Cecconi, Bob Farmer and everyone at Anthem, Don Lombardi and everyone at The Drum Channel and DW®, Ocean Way To Go for amazing mics and gear, Rik Emmett, Rick Wharton and Mike Shotton for bringing in the Canadian classic rock element, Gavin Lurssen, Reuben Cohen and everyone at Lurssen Mastering, IK Multimedia, Allen Mackenroth, Erik Nielson, John Mason, Amber Tidwell and everyone at Sonic Reality, Andy Olson, Rush is a Band, Power Windows, The Rush Forum and everyone the Rush fan sites, Alex, Geddy and lots of love to all of Neil Peart's family, friends and fans.

This album is dedicated to Neil.


all rights reserved



Dave Kerzner & Sonic Elements Miami, Florida

Dave Kerzner, of the band "Sound of Contact", has a variety of Progressive Rock projects including his work as a solo artist. Dave's “Sonic Elements” project uses sounds from his company Sonic Reality and features iconic guests like Steve Hackett (Genesis), Keith Emerson (ELP), Billy Sherwood (Yes), Francis Dunnery (It Bites), with SR drums from Neil Peart, Nick Mason... ... more

contact / help

Contact Dave Kerzner & Sonic Elements

Streaming and
Download help

Redeem code

Report this album or account

Dave Kerzner & Sonic Elements recommends:

If you like XYZ - A Tribute to Rush (Special Edition), you may also like: